Catherine Afeku has been removed as Tourism Minister in latest reshuffle

Hon. Catherine Afeku

Member of Parliament for Evalue-Ajomoro-Gwira, Catherine Afeku, has been removed as Minister for Tourism, Culture and Creative Arts in a new reshuffle by President Nana Akufo-Addo.

She has now been assigned to the office of the president as Minister of State, but the statement issued by Director of Communications at the Jubilee House Eugene Arhin Thursday did not say exactly what her work will be at the presidency.

Until her removal, Ms. Afeku received backlash from Ghanaians, particularly those in the creative arts industry for what they said was her over-concentration on the Tourism aspect of her ministry.

She was also criticized for what many perceived as frequent travels outside the country and grabbed headlines for how she handled funds for the 2018 All Africa Music Awards (AFRIMA) which was held in Ghana for the first time.

While her removal is expected to be welcomed by many, it will be a big blow to others in the Tourism sector who have argued that she is by far the best minister in recent years.

Hon. Barbara Oteng Gyasi

Meanwhile, President Akufo-Addo has named deputy Minister for Lands and Natural Resources, Barbara Oteng Gyasi, as the new minister-designate for Tourism, Culture, and Creative Arts.

Who are affected?

Also removed from his current position is the Upper West Regional Minister, Sulemana Alhassan, who was reinstated after he was suspended last year for ordering the release of some NPP loyalists arrested for vandalizing NADMO offices in the region.

Though the statement from the presidency said he has been re-assigned, it did not say where he has been reassigned to.

Dr. Hafiz Bin Salih has now been named Upper West Regional Minister-designate.

Gifty Twum Ampofo, Member of Parliament for Abuakwa North constituency and former Deputy Minister for Gender, Children and Social Protection, is now Deputy Minister for Education.

Freda Prempeh, Member of Parliament for Tano North constituency and former Deputy Minister for Works and Housing, is now Deputy Minister for Gender, Children and Social Protection.

Barbara Ayisi Asher, Member of Parliament for Cape Coast North constituency and former deputy Minister for Education, is now Deputy Minister for Works and Housing.

Naana Eyiah, Member of Parliament for Gomoa Central constituency, is now Deputy Minister-designate for Lands and Natural Resources.

Alex Kodwo Kom Abban, Member of Parliament for Gomoa West constituency, is now Deputy Minister-designate for Health.

Yaw Afful, Member of Parliament for Jaman South, is now Deputy Minister-designate for Aviation.